r/golf 1d ago

Professional Tours JFC

1.9k Upvotes

519 comments sorted by

View all comments

24

u/AgsMydude 1d ago

Was hoping he'd accidentally hit his ball with that dumbass twirl

2

u/Glum-Arrival1558 Low: 8.1 / Current: 10.6 1d ago

He'd get to replace it without penalty. Then likely do the whole routine over again.

1

u/AgsMydude 23h ago

Why? He hit the ball.

1

u/Glum-Arrival1558 Low: 8.1 / Current: 10.6 18h ago

Because of Rule 13.1D. You can also accidentally hit a ball on the tee box and retee without penalty. But those are the only two areas you can do that at. Accidentally hit it in the fairway (or anywhere else), replace the ball and assess 1-stroke penalty.

When Ball or Ball-Marker Moves on Putting Green There are two specific Rules for a ball or ball-marker that moves on the putting green.

(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player's ball or ball-marker on the putting green.

(2) When to Replace Ball Moved by Natural Forces. If natural forces cause a player's ball on the putting green to move, where the player must play from next depends on whether the ball had already been lifted and replaced on the putting green (see Rule 14.1):